Uncategorized, wellness

Wellness Wednesday: Smoothies

Today’s Wellness Wednesday is all about smoothies! I’m not the best at eating healthy, it’s something I’m working on but it can be such a struggle sometimes. I can exercise everyday without a problem but when it comes to eating healthy…

I wanted to take this Wednesday to show you the types of smoothies I love and hopefully you’ll love them too!

You’ll notice I don’t write “put in 10 blueberries”, this is because I really don’t count anything. I don’t even measure how much Silk Milk goes in. If you’re making a strawberry banana smoothie and you like strawberries more than bananas, go ahead and load your smoothie with more strawberries. The only thing I do measure is the avocado because I will only put half in.

To make my smoothies I use the the Magic Bullet. It’s small so it’s perfect for my dorm room. It’s also super easy to clean- just put water and dish soap in, run it again, and then rinse it out!

Smoothie 1

  • Banana
  • Strawberries
  • Silk Milk- Vanilla
  • Chia Seeds

Smoothie 2

  • Banana
  • Peanut Butter
  • Silk Milk- Vanilla
  • Chia Seeds

Smoothie 3

  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Silk Milk- Vanilla
  • Chia Seeds

Smoothie 4

  • Banana
  • Peach
  • Strawberries
  • Silk Milk- Vanilla

Smoothie 5

  • Banana
  • 1/2 Avocado*
  • Blueberries
  • Peanut Butter
  • Silk Milk- Vanilla
  • I’m not the biggest avocado fan so I usually put extra peanut butter in when I use an avocado.

Smoothie 6

This is a smoothie bowl I bought at Nourish Wellness Cafe in Northampton so I figured I would share the ingredients with you!

  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries
  • Bananas
  • Coconut and chia seeds as toppings
  • I’m not sure if they used a liquid base or not

And the final product is below:

IMG_8169

Here are some popular toppings:

  • Shredded coconut: the only time I’ve had this is at Nourish and it was so good!
  • Chia seeds: I usually incorporate chia seeds into my smoothie so I don’t typically put them on top.
  • Granola
  • Almonds
  • Chopped up pieces of fruit: if it didn’t all fit into the blender, add it to the top!

So what if you don’t have a blender? Try Naked Juices. I just tried the Blue Machine the other day and it was amazing! It has apples, blackberries, blue berries, and a banana.

If you want any inspiration go look at @smoothiebowls on Instagram. I haven’t made one that beautiful yet but one day! If you try to make any of these let me know how it goes! And if you have any smoothie suggestions leave them in the comments!

xox,

Marissa

Leave a comment